Lions Club of Wangaratta,

Victoria, Australia, District 201V6


Wangaratta (1956)

The formation meeting was held in November, 1955, at the Council Club Hotel and was attended by Chris August, Dick Barry, Howard Marks, Peter Seargeant, Bruce Hardy and Roy Glasgow.

The Lions Club of Wangaratta received its Charter on March 17th, 1956 at a formal dinner meeting held at Murdoch House,Wangaratta.The President was Chris August, the Charter night Chairman was Peter Seargeant and the sponsor Lions Club was Kyneton. The Lions Club of Sydney was the mentoring Club, but was unable to be the Charter Club due to not being a Victorian Club, the Lions Club of Kyneton was the closest Lions Club at that time. The Club is the 47th Lions Club chartered in Australia, the 9th Club inVictoria and the first Club chartered in North East Victoria and Southern New South Wales.

The Lions Club of Wangaratta has been responsible for the Chartering of 7 new Lions Clubs at Albury, Beechworth, Benalla, Chiltern, Euroa, Shepparton, Glenrowan/Warby Ranges, and in turn these Clubs have sponsored most other Lions Clubs in North East Victoria and Southern New South Wales..

The Charter Anniversary meeting is held annually on the closest Dinner Meeting to the Charter Meeting of 17th March 1956. The Charter Anniversary meeting remains a formal Dinner Meeting to which the Lions Ladies are invited. The current 1st Vice President arranges this Charter Anniversary meeting and is Chairman on the night.

The Lions District 20IV6 "Chris August Memorial Award" for outstanding service to the local community, is dedicated to the memory of Charter President Chris August who was generally recognised as the founder and father of Lions Clubs in North East Victoria and Southern New South Wales.This Chris August Memorial Award is sponsored by the Lions Club of Wangaratta.


For a more detailed insight of the

Wangaratta Lions Club History.

Please download the following PDF file.

Wangaratta Lions Club History




Presentation of Lions Club Charter to Chris August by Australian Governor Syd Packham